Oxford Media Convention 2016


Wednesday 2nd March 2016, Saïd Business School, Oxford

Interested in the future of the BBC and public sector broadcasting? If so this year’s Oxford Media Convention is a must-attend event at which important announcements can be expected. Reserve your place nowto ensure you are part of this debate and hear first-hand from the Secretary of State John Whittingdale, Sir David Clementi, author of an independent review on the governance of the BBC and Rona Fairhead, chair of the BBC Trust.

Leading politicians, policymakers, industry leaders, practitioners, analysts and competitors from across the UK media will debating some of the industry’s key challenges:


  • The Media and Diversity: Not Quite Black And White withTrevor Phillips OBE
  • Prominence, distribution and discoverability: what, why and how? – with Sophie Jones,head of corporate relations, Channel 4; David Mahoney, director of policy and government affairs, Ofcom; Daniel Wilson, head of UK policy, BBC, and more tbc.
  • Incitement and National Security. A new architecture to protect freedom – with Thomas Hughes, executive director, Article 19; Chi Onwurah MP, shadow minister for culture and the digital economy; Mark Stephens CBE, chair, Global Network Initiative.
  • The future of original production in the European single market – with Sally Broughton Micova, lecturer in political communication, University of East Anglia, Jon McVay, chief executive, Pact, Jeremy Oliver, head of internet policy, Ofcom, and Tim Raats, senior researcher, iMinds-SMIT.
  • The BBC: how to combine accountability to users with innovation and independence – withJames Heath, director of policy, BBC; Professor Lis Howell, senior lecturer in journalism, City University; Professor Jean Seaton, professor of media history, University of Westminster, and more tbc.


For a full list of confirmed speakers, information about the programme and booking details, please visit www.oxfordmediaconvention.com

Produced by




Supported by


Updated by Bill Best on 19 February 2016.