Ofcom Awards Three New Community Radio Licences in South East England

Posted by & filed under Licensing.

Ofcom has announced the award of a further three new community radio
licences as part of its licensing round in the South East of England
(excluding within the M25). They are:

- HCR FM, Huntingdon

- Intobeats, Bedford

- AHBS Community Radio, Ashford, Kent

This now takes the number of community radio licences awarded by Ofcom
to over 200.

Since community radio was introduced in 2004 Ofcom has received 360
applications in two licensing rounds.  201 groups have been offered
licences so far, and of these 135 stations have already commenced

Details of the three new community radio stations are as follows:

HCR FM (Huntingdon)
Contact: William Hensley
Address: The Chestnuts, 22 High Street, Warboys, Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire PE28 2RH
Telephone: 01487 823424 or 07767 823424
Email: bill.hensley@hcrfm.co.uk
Website: www.hcrfm.co.uk

HCR FM (Huntingdon Community Radio) will serve the whole community of Huntingdon and the surrounding area with familiar music and local news and information that suits local tastes.

Intobeats (Bedford)
Contact: Nicola Fox
Address: 53 Harpur Street, Bedford, Bedfordshire MK40 2SR
Telephone: 01234 352244
Email: enquiries@intobeats.com
Website: www.intobeats.com

Intobeats will bring an urban music-based community radio service to 14-35 year olds in Bedford. The station will aim to offer opportunities to get involved in the station to people from different backgrounds and to offer training in media and life skills.

AHBS Community Radio (Ashford, Kent)
Contact: Richard Collins
Address: Ashford Hospital Broadcasting Service, William Harvey Hospital,
Ashford, Kent TN24 0LZ
Telephone: 01233 616 226
Email: richard.collins@ahbs.org.uk
Website: www.ahbs.org.uk

AHBS will broadcast a service of entertainment and health information, aimed especially at those directly involved in healthcare, but also encompassing the wider community. As well as health-related output the station will include information from the Council and programmes produced by local schools and the wider community.
Licences are awarded for a five-year period.

A statement setting out the main determining factors for the award of the four community radio licences referred to above will be available shortly from the Ofcom website.

From: http://www.ofcom.org.uk/media/news/2009/05/nr_20090520

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.