CMA Conference 2014 & AGM

Posted by & filed under Events.

If you didn’t manage to get to the CMA’s 2014 Conference & AGM held last Saturday at De Montfort University in Leicester then you missed out on an amazing day. There was a great turnout of delegates from all over the UK, from Leicester and beyond – one delegate had even flown in from Spain especially.

The event was sponsored by Broadcast Warehouse who announced an exclusive discount deal for CMA members (details below). Additional support for the event came from PPL and Media Trust with trade exhibits from Psquared, Clyde Broadcast and of course Broadcast Warehouse.

There were a number of exhibitors from local citizen journalism projects associated with Citizens Eye community media and a live radio broadcast and demonstration of portable studio kit from Takeover Radio.

The theme of this year’s event was “Sound Vision” and CMA Chair, Dom Chambers, was keen to respond to feedback and to give CMA members a conference that they deserved:

“…the CMA is offering more vibrant and visionary sector leadership whilst helping our members meet the challenges we all face in delivering community media with social impact”.

We had a key note speech from Paul Robinson from the  Radio Academy. And Dom updated Conference about new developments and his vision for the sector.

There were breakout sessions on Local TV, community reporting and the forthcoming BBC Community Reporters Day. After a splendid lunch there was a plenary session on “Generating Income” and finally CMA staff updated delegates on their work.

Presentation slides, photos and social media below:

Planning has already started for next year’s event – so make sure you’re there!

The CMA Council for 2014/15 established at this year’s AGM is as follows:

Richard Berry (Spark FM/University of Sunderland)

Jenny Campbell (Inspiration FM – Northampton)

Dom Chambers (CMA Chair/ Manager, Somer Valley FM – NE Somerset)

Murray Dawson (Chief Exec SHMU – Aberdeen)

Lucinda Guy (Soundart Radio – Totnes, Devon)

Liz Hardwick (DigiEnable – North West)

Danny Lawrence (Exec Director at Gateway 97.8, Basildon, Essex)

Terry Lee (Radio LaB, University of Bedfordshire)

Hannah Parry (Viewpoint Community Media, Bristol)

Martin Parry (Swindon Viewpoint)

Javed Sattar (Founding Director of Awaz FM, Glasgow)

Philippa Sawyer (Wycombe Sound, High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire)

Martin Steers (Scout Radio, Bedfordshire)

Steve Thompson (DigitalCity Innovation, Teesside University)

Rob Watson (De Montfort University, Leicester)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.