Ofcom awards six community radio licences

Posted by & filed under Licensing, Radio Industry.

Ofcom recently announced the award of six new community radio licences in England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales.

The new stations will serve communities in Banbridge in County Down, Northern Ireland; Paisley in Renfrewshire, Scotland; Aberystwyth in Ceredigion, Wales; Burgess Hill in West Sussex; and South Dartmoor and Torbay in Devon.

Community radio services are provided on a not-for-profit basis, focusing on the delivery of specific social benefits to a particular area or community of interest.

More than 250 community radio stations are currently on air today.

The six new community radio licences have been awarded to:

Radio Aber (Radio Aber Limited)
Website: www.rbfmlive.co.uk
Radio Aber will broadcast to people in Aberystwyth and surrounding areas.

Bounce FM (Bounce FM)
Website: www.bouncefm.co.uk
Bounce FM will be a radio station for the people of Banbridge in Northern Ireland.

Burgess Hill Radio (Burgess Hill Community Radio CIC)
Website: www.burgesshillradio.co.uk
Burgess Hill Radio will be a community radio service for Burgess Hill, West Sussex.

Paisley FM (Paisley FM (2017) Limited)
Website: www.paisleyfm.co.uk
Paisley FM will be a radio station for the people of Paisley and the surrounding areas in Renfrewshire, Scotland.

Riviera FM (Riviera FM Limited)
Website: www.riviera.fm
Riviera FM will serve Torbay and the surrounding area including Torquay, Paignton and Brixham (Devon).

Skylark (Skylark Sounds)
Skylark will serve the people of South Dartmoor, Devon.

The licences are awarded for a five-year period. Ofcom has a statement (PDF, 166.6 KB)  setting out the main determining factors for the award of these licences.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.